The Open University skip to content Accessibility

Materials Engineering Group
 


Research / Student Projects

Materials Engineering

Current Student Projects

Follow student project titles to their personal pages



Murat Acar Murat Acar

 

The Effect of Pre-straining and Heat Treatment on Mechanical Properties and Microstructure of Welded 316H Austenitic Stainless Steel Tubes

m.o.acar@open.ac.uk

+44 (0) 1908 653927

Bilal Ahmad Bilal Ahmad

 

Analysis of Fillet Weld Residual stresses

b.ahmad@open.ac.uk

 

David Ajilore

 

Creep Embrittlement in Nickel Superalloy IN718

d.ajilore@open.ac.uk

+44(0) 1908 632 994

Mirko Boin

 

Development of Vector Tomography Algorithms for 3D Imaging of Local Crystallographic Structures

boin@hmi.de

Genoveva Burca Genoveva Burca

 

The Development and Application of Advanced Experimental Techniques for Neutron and Synchrotron Investigations of Materials

g.burca@open.ac.uk

+44 (0) 1908 6332990

Stefano Coratella Stephan Flemming

  Laser Shock Peening for Improved Damage Tolerance of Aerospace Structuress
Stephan Flemming Stephan Flemming

  Development of a Client Server System for full automatic instrument calibration of a diffractometer for residual stress
David Githinji David Githinji
 

Surface-based characterisation techniques for creep deformation and damage

d.n.githingi@open.ac.uk

+44 (0) 1908 653 594

Anusha Kankanala Anusha Kankanala

 

Reliable Measurement of Residual Stresses in Dissimilar Welds

a.kankanala@open.ac.uk

+44-(0) 1908 659 207

Jino Mathew Jino Mathew

 

Weld residual stress profiles for structural integrity assessment

j.mathew@open.ac.uk

+44 (0) 1908 659 085

Shanmukha Moturu Sanjooram Paddea

 

Issues Affecting the Reliable Measurement of Residual Stresses in Weldments by Neutron Diffraction

s.r.moturu@open.ac.uk

+44 (0) 1908 858364

Nida Naveed Nida Naveed

 

Measurement of residual stresses in complex welded components

n.naveed@open.ac.uk

+44 (0) 1908 652097

Sanjooram Paddea Sanjooram Paddea

 

Stress and Damage Evolution in Materials for Ultra-Supercritical Power Plant

s.paddea@open.ac.uk

+44 (0) 1908 352796

Yuki Sakanashi Yuki Sakanashi (Yuki Phillips)

 

Digital Image Correlation to High Temperature Welds

y.sakanashi@open.ac.uk

+44 (0) 1908 653143

Susan Storer Sue Storer

 

Residual Stress in Materials for Nuclear Power Generation

s.storer@open.ac.uk

+44 (0) 1908 653304

Abdul Khadar Syed Abdul Khadar Syed

 

Durability of Bonded Crack Retarders for Aerospace

A.K.Syed@open.ac.uk

+44 (0) 1908 652698

Burak Toparli Burak Toparli

 

Analysis of Laser Shock Peen Residual Stress Fields

m.b.toparli@open.ac.uk

+44 (0) 1908 632662

Yeli Traore Yeli Traore

 

The Development of Principles for the Contour Method of Residual Stress Measurement

y.traore@open.ac.uk

+44(0)1908 659766

Asim Zeybek Asim Zeybek

 

Mechanical Properties of Oxide Dispersion Strengthened
( ODS ) Materials

a.zeybek@open.ac.uk

+44 (0) 1908 653977

 

For recently completed projects please follow this link


back to the top^